The Quizlet Unconference

Over the past two days, I have been fortunate enough to have time in my schedule to attend the Quizlet UnconferenceQuizlet is a study website (think: flashcards) I used when I was a student. It’s been very cool to see how it’s evolved over time. It is free to create a basic account, and there are many useful features (including Quizlet Live) accessible without needing to pay for Quizlet Teacher.

Not only was Quizlet featured, but there were some workshops that shared a bit about other resources including Google Classroom and Pear Deck vocabulary. I thought I knew a lot about Quizlet, but I learned a lot over the past two days!

One of my favorite activities featured was Quizlet Live. Quizlet Live is a cool feature used to help students learn study sets from Quizlet. The system divides students into teams of 3 – 4, and each student sees 3 – 4 “terms” on their screen. Their other team members have the remaining 8 – 9 “terms” (there are 12 questions total). All students see the “definitions” and need to figure out if they have the answer or if one of their teammates has the answer.

I used Quizlet Live last year in my math class for geometry terms and for combining like terms, and the students absolutely LOVED it! During the Unconference, I learned how to set up a Quizlet Live Tournament, different variations of the game (including a relay), and more! I am looking forward to hosting more Quizlet Live games this year to help strengthen students’ conceptual skills in the math classroom.

Note: Quizlet will be uploading the videos of the webinars from the Quizlet Unconference to their YouTube channel within the next couple of days.

Leave a comment